Ouyen is a town in Victoria, Australia, located in the rural city of Mildura at the junction of the Calder Highway and mallee highway, 105 kilometres (65 mi) south of Mildura, and 441 km (274 mi) northwest of Melbourne. At the 2016 census, the town had a population of 1,045. The area was first occupied by the wergaia aborigines. The name is believed to be derived from the Wergaia word "Wuya-Wuya", which some believe means "Pink-eared duck", whilst others claim it means "Ghost waterhole". Ouyen is the commercial, cultural and transport centre for the surrounding grain farming region. Trucks arrive at harvest time to transport grain to portland or Adelaide, South Australia for shipping, or to flour mills for processing. Ouyen has an Australian rules football team, Ouyen united, competing in the Sunraysia football league. Golfers play at the Ouyen golf club on baker street. The clubhouse also houses the Ouyen tennis club.

Images around Ouyen VIC 3490

Around Ouyen VIC 3490

Our Picks on what to Do in Ouyen VIC

Ouyen Playground

Ouyen Golf Course

Ouyen Local History Resource Centre

Blackburn Park

Our Picks on where to Stay in Ouyen VIC

Ouyen Motel

Hilltop Motel

Ouyen Caravan Park

Our Picks on what to Eat in Ouyen VIC

Swagman Jack Cafe

Mallee Route Cafe

Victoria Hotel

Shopping in Ouyen VIC

Community Services  

Lake Hattah Visitor Centre VIC
Hattah VIC 3501

Mildura Rural City Council VIC
108-116 Madden Avenue,

Ouyen Police Station VIC
19 Pickering Street,

Ouyen and District Hospital
28 Britt Street,

Ouyen Library VIC
79 Oke Street,

Ouyen Swimming Pool
Gregory Street,

Location Information 

  • Elevation: 50 m (164 ft)
  • Population: 1,045
  • State electorate(s): Mildura
  • Federal Division(s): Mallee
  • Established (yr): 1906
  • Population information is based on 2016 Census data.

Travel To  

Hopetoun VIC 3396 (90.8 km, 58 mins)
Mildura VIC 3500 (100 km, 1 hr 6 mins)
Acknowledgement of Country

Ouyen VIC is located on the following Aboriginal Nation/s.

Wotjobaluk acknowledges the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and the traditional custodians of the lands where we live, learn and work.