Hamilton is a small rural town 73 kilometres (45 mi) north-west of Hobart in Tasmania, Australia. It is on the Lyell Highway. At the 2006 census, the town and surrounding area had a population of 300. Governor Macquarie named the locality as 'Sorell Plains', and it became locally known as 'Macquarie' and 'Lower Clyde'. Governor Arthur finalised a name for the locality and this was announced in 1826 (Colonial Times and Tasmanian Advertiser, Friday 28 July 1826, page 3). Hamilton was named after William Henry Hamilton, a wealthy free settler who had arrived in Van Diemen's Land in April 1824.Hamilton Post Office opened on 1 June 1832. Hamilton was once a bustling frontier town that contained many inns and several working breweries. It contains a few small shops and buildings, such as the court house, many of them dating back to convict times. Cricketer Percy Lewis was born here in 1864.

Images around Hamilton TAS 7140

Around Hamilton TAS 7140

Our Picks on what to Do in Hamilton TAS

Russells Falls

Horseshoe Falls

Meadowbank Lake

Prospect Villa & Garden

Mount Field National Park

Our Picks on where to Stay in Hamilton TAS

Hamilton Camping Facilities

Curringa Farm

Hamilton Inn

Search hotels around Hamilton TAS

The Search will open in a new window on Partner site

Our Picks on what to Eat in Hamilton TAS

Jackson's Emporium

Wild Fennel Cafe

The Kingdom Gallery at Glen Clyde House

Shopping in Hamilton TAS

Community Services  

Bothwell Visitor Information TAS
4 Market Place,

Central Highlands Council
6 Tarleton Street,

Hamilton Police Station TAS
62 Franklin Place,

Location Information 

  • Population: 300
  • State electorate(s): Lyons
  • Federal Division(s): Lyons
  • Population information is based on 2016 Census data.

Travel To  

Miena TAS 7030 (91.3 km, 1 hr 5 mins)
New Norfolk TAS 7140 (38.3 km, 30 mins)
Acknowledgement of Country

Hamilton TAS is located on the following Aboriginal Nation/s. acknowledges the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and the traditional custodians of the lands where we live, learn and work.