The Northern territory’s third-largest town, Katherine is on the banks of the Katherine River, which flows from the nearby world-renowned Katherine Gorge (Nitmiluk National Park).replacenewlinereplacenewlineImmerse yourself in Katherine's rich tradition of Aboriginal art, culture and heritage. A great selection of galleries in Katherine promotes local produced works that reflect the styles and influences of the Jawoyn, Warlpiri and Dagoman people.replacenewlinereplacenewlineTake a cruise or canoe along the magnificent Katherine Gorge (Nitmiluk), and be dwarfed by the towering glowing cliffs of the gorge.

Images around Katherine NT 850

Around Katherine NT 850

Our Picks on what to Do in Katherine NT

Katherine Museum

Katherine Hot Springs

Mimi Aboriginal Arts and Crafts

Shady Lane Tourist Park

Katherine Outback Experience NT

Top Didj Cultural Experience & Art Gallery

Our Picks on where to Stay in Katherine NT

St Andrews Serviced Apartments

Katherine Motel

Pine Tree Motel

Search hotels around Katherine NT

The Search will open in a new window on Partner site

Our Picks on what to Eat in Katherine NT

Stormy's Bar and Bistro

New Shanghai Restaurant and Takeaway

Regent Court Chinese Restaurant

Shopping in Katherine NT

Community Services  

Katherine Visitor Information Centre NT
Corner Lindsay Street and Stuart Highway (next to ABC Radio),

Town Of Katherine NT
Lot 1865, Katherine Town Council Civic Centre, Stuart Highway,

Katherine Police Station NT
Stuart Highway,
Katherine East NT 850

Katherine District Hospital NT
Giles Street,

Katherine Public Library - NT
Level 1, Katherine Terrace, Randazzo Centre,

Katherine Aquatic Centre NT
2525 Stuart Highway,

Location Information 

  • Elevation: 108
  • Population: 6303
  • State electorate(s): Katherine
  • Federal Division(s): Lingiari
  • Established (yr): 1926
  • Population information is based on 2016 Census data.

Travel To  

Mataranka NT 852 (108 km, 1 hr 7 mins)
Pine Creek NT 847 (92.3 km, 55 mins)
Acknowledgement of Country

Katherine NT is located on the following Aboriginal Nation/s. acknowledges the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and the traditional custodians of the lands where we live, learn and work.