Tumut is a town in the Riverina region of New South Wales, Australia, situated on the banks of the Tumut River. Tumut sits on the north-west foothills of the Snowy Mountains and is located in the traditional lands of the Wiradjuri, Ngarigo and Ngunnawal aboriginal peoples. Tumut is often referred to as the 'gateway to the snowy' Snowy Mountains Scheme. The former Tumut Shire was administered from offices located in the town. Tumut is approximately 410 kilometres (250 mi) south-west of Sydney and 525 kilometres (330 mi) north-east of Melbourne. Tumut is home to a number of historic buildings, including an Anglican church designed by Edmund Blacket and a Courthouse designed by James Barnet. Many of the pubs in the town have been in use from the mid to late 1800s. Early settlers established a large number of European deciduous trees throughout the area. The stand of Poplars, Elm and Willow, amongst others, create a well-renowned display of colour over autumn. Tumut celebrates this with the yearly Festival of the Falling Leaf.

Images around Tumut NSW 2720

Around Tumut NSW 2720

Our Picks on what to Do in Tumut NSW

Tumut Farmers Markets

Lanterns on the Lagoon

Mavericks live at Tumut River Brewing Co

Our Picks on where to Stay in Tumut NSW

Ribbonwood Cottages

Tumut Apartments

Tumut Valley Motel

Search hotels around Tumut NSW

The Search will open in a new window on Partner site

Our Picks on what to Eat in Tumut NSW

The Coffee Pedaler Tumut

Oriental Hotel Tumut

Tumut River Brewing Co

Shopping in Tumut NSW

Location Information 

  • Elevation: 305.0 m
  • Population: 6,230
  • State electorate(s): Wagga Wagga
  • Federal Division(s): Eden-Monaro
  • Population information is based on 2016 Census data.

Travel To  

Adaminaby NSW 2629 (128 km, 1 hr 36 mins)
Batlow NSW 2730 (33.6 km, 30 mins)
Tumbarumba NSW 2653 (66.9 km, 54 mins)